Dear Kim Kardashian,

March 9, 2016 § Leave a comment

 

When I first saw you trending on twitter, out of curiosity I clicked and I saw that you had posted a naked picture and people were discussing about it. For several minutes I regretted even clicking on the topic. I also read your post this morning about slut- shamming and I was compelled to write a response. I just want to try and attempt to explain why I think your naked selfies or your brand in general is not the way forward for women especially young girls.

Let me begin by saying you are a brilliant business woman; the problem I have with your brand is that you have built an empire by feeding in the insecurities of women. I am in my 30s and very confident of the woman that I have grown into, but there are millions of young girls looking out for role models to help them become better women and also to empower them. I have to admit that I do not follow you on social media and yesterday I scrolled through your Instagram account. I should say they were gorgeous but I also realised that you have gone on to make millions by reinforcing the insecurities experienced by women every day: Diet pills; lip-plumping gloss; waist training; slimming dresses.

Yesterday when you took to twitter to unleash comments about Chloë Grace Moretz without understanding that she did not slut shame you and instead you asked if anyone knew who she was. Let me explain, we all know who is she. Chloe started acting when she was seven years old, she has won more than 20 awards and has been nominated for more than 15 awards and she is 19yrs old. You need not have dragged a 19yr old girl without understanding the context in which she was expressing her views.

I should acknowledge that you are an intelligent marketer, or at-least surrounded by those who know the trade. But kindly do not interpret nude photographs as empowerment. I have to agree that not all nude photographs are same. For example, in 2014 Actress Keira Knightley posed topless for Interview Magazine and she did so in protest of photoshopping. There was a strong reason behind that and also to send out a larger message that it is unethical to alter a woman’s image to make it appear ‘perfect’. “I’ve had my body manipulated so many different times for so many different reasons, whether it’s paparazzi photographers or for film posters,” Knightley expressed . “That shoot was one of the ones where I said: ‘Ok, I’m fine doing the topless shot so long as you don’t make them any bigger or retouch.’ Because it does feel important to say it really doesn’t matter what shape you are.” This is where I feel that difference is, a nude photo taken to spread a strong ethical message vs a nude photo taken in the name of empowerment/liberation. Even when Lena posed nude there was a strong message behind it and it was not just a nude photo with a caption that made little sense.

The main theme of your post today was ‘slut-shamming’, let me refresh your memory or maybe quote something that your husband posted sometime back about Amber Rose, “4th you let a stripper trap you,” “5th I know you mad every time you look at your child that this girl got you for 18 years”. Where was your stand on Slut-shamming then? Why did you not stand up and tell your husband to stop slut-shamming another woman? He not only dragged her but also her son and you had nothing to say about it? Another example, your husband recently released a song that has the following lyrics, “I feel like me and Taylor might still have sex/ Why? I made that bitch famous” and he went on to tweet you did not have a problem with his lyrics. How is that when your husband goes on bullying and slut-shamming women you don’t seem to bring this up but use the card as and when it suits you? You are asking us to move past the fact that you got famous because of a sex tape but your husband can still continue to call someone a stripper? I don’t say that you need to be accountable for what Kanye says but don’t you think if you are finding it so insulting and unfair for being slut-shammed but when your own family is doing it to someone else you don’t say a word?

Kindly understand that a lot of us are frustrated because day in and out we are being bombarded by nude/photoshopped/ edited images with so many justifications and yet there is very little done towards actual change. Why is it that women with powerful influence and voice like yours are not raising real issues that women like me struggle in our day today lives such as equal pay, domestic violence, sexual harassment, race, reproductive rights? These are the issues that will bring about empowerment and change. Sadly, nude pictures which are photoshopped, edited and captioned with empowering texts do very little towards change.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dear Kim Kardashian, at Agganaa's Blog.

meta

